Military Embedded Systems

NSA/DHS officials designate institutions as National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense


November 10, 2016

Mariana Iriarte

Technology Editor

Military Embedded Systems

FORT MEADE, MD. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and National Security Agency (NSA) officials designated the following eight institutions as NSA/DHS National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense: Augusta University, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Florida International University, Middle Georgia State University, University of Delaware, Clark State Community College, Lake Superior College, and Red Rocks Community College.

NSA and DHS partner with academic institutions to enhance cybersecurity education as well as develop the next generation of cybersecurity experts. The National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity Program aims to raise the level of cybersecurity capabilities across the nation through the President’s Cybersecurity National Action Plan.

During the National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) at the National Institute for Standards and Technology, the institutions were recognized and presented by by Diane M. Janosek, Deputy Commandant of the National Cryptologic School/National Security Agency, and Daniel Stein, Cybersecurity Education and Awareness Branch/Department of Homeland Security.

Read more on cyberdefense:

In a cyberwar

NAVAIR selects MacAulay-Brown, Inc. to provide cyber warfighting capabilities

SAIC selected to support Cyberspace Operations systems for DoD